Tag Archives: Jaspal Singh Sawhney

The new OCA India Committee 2023-25

The new OLD COTTONIANS ASSOCIATION India Committee has been formed for the next 2 yrs i.e from 1st April 2023 to 31st March 2025.

Mr.Jaspal Sawhney – Ibbetson 1963, has taken over as the next PRESIDENT of this Association.

Mr.Neel Kamal Mehra – bbetson 1962, has been appointed the TREASURER.

Mr.K.Vijay Singh – Lefroy 1966, was elected the GENERAL SECRETARY.

It’s our endeavour to make our Association more interactive and inclusive with your help and new ideas.

All suggestions are most welcome.

K Vijay Singh
General Secretary
OCA India.

Announcing OCA India VP 2021-23

Dear OCs

This is to announce the unanimous selection of Mr. Jaspal Sawhney as the incoming Vice President of OCA India for two years 2021-2023 effective from 1st April 2021.

This decision was taken this afternoon [30th March 2021] by the Selection Committee of OCA India .

Our heartiest congratulations to Mr. Sawhney & wishing him all the very best.

D. SIngh Jaaj & All Office Bearers of OCA India.

PS: My term as President OCA INdia concluses on 31st March 2021 and it has been a pleasure to serve our great Association & our School while on its Board of Governors.
– D. SIngh.


New Committee for OCA Delhi [NCR] Chapter

Dear OCs
The new committee for OCA Delhi Chapter was formed and confirmed on 26th August 2020. The meeting could not be held earlier due to covid precautions.

  • K.Vijay Singh – President
  • Ashwini Virk – Vice President
  • Jaspinder Kochar – Secretary
  • Gurvinder Kochar – Jt.Secretary
  • Anurag Batra – Treasurer
  • Dr.Romesh Lal – Member
  • Ashwani Nanda – Member
  • Jaspal Sawhney – Ex President
  • Harpreet Khatkar – Ex.Secretary
  • Chetan Singh – Co-opted Member
  • Anil Soni – Co-opted Member
  • Rajesh Bhalla – Co-opted Member

President OCA Delhi Chapter.

Jaspal Sawhney : Thank you all

Dear OCs

Bishop Cotton School, Shimla – Sesquicentennial Celebrations

I am to thank each one of you, those who came to the celebrations, and those who could not, for contributing to the spirit of the celebrations.

Each function was a tremendous success and well attended. Frankly, none of the organizers could have forecast such a good attendance. The functions could not have succeeded without team work, and I am grateful, personally, and on behalf of OCA to everybody who put in so much time and effort to make the functions memorable. I wish to specially thank the following

  1. Board of Directors & Deep Anand who gave the vision for the functions.
  2. The headmaster along with his staff members, who meticulously charted every minute of the celebrations. The ambiance and the food provided at the dinner on 2nd October was something to dream off. John Whitmarsh Knight, Ms. Prabhudas, Mr. Mathews who put up with my numerous queries and requirements on a daily basis.
  3. Sukhinder Singh & Ajay Thiara who organised the evening at Chandigarh which went on till the wee hours of the morning. The train journey from Kalka to Shimla along with the lunch at Barog which was full of nostalgia. The Punjabi lunch on 3rd October, and, of course, arranging for Adnan Sami to perform for us.
  4. Students of BCS who performed at the musical play which could very easily have received a standing ovation at any theatre on Broadway. The school teams of cricket and football who made us heady with wins against Aitchison College, Lahore. Mrs. Joy Michael for producing the musical play.
  5. Narinder Chauhan, Harish Janartha, DM Sud, Pritinder Singh who provided all the local logistics support and the wonderful setting at the dinner at hotel Peter Holf.
  6. Anupam Thapa for his tireless work to put together the coffee table book which was sold out in the first day itself.
  7. Chandan Ratra who managed and coordinated with all the various players and put together the logistics for the BCS play and the musical evening.
  8. Rajpal Duggal and Ashwini Virk who coordinated the memorabilia as well as the hotel accommodation at Shimla.
  9. K.C.Anand who managed the coup de tat by bringing the headmaster of Aitchson College along with his football and cricket team to play against BCS.
  10. Anil Advani who constantly updated messages on the web so that all participants were aware of the events which would unfold. Wendy Dewan and SS Rai who gave me their inputs in respect of functioning of the OCA
  11. Anil Mehra for giving me his unstinted support on every occasion, whether I was right or I was wrong.
  12. Parmeet Sawhney who managed the PR and the press and ensured coverage of the various events in spite of grave setbacks.

In addition to the above, many many OC’s, staff members, Cottonians contributed, the list of which would go on and on .

Thank you all.

Best Regards,
Jaspal Sawhney