Minutes of the Meeting [India AGM 2011]

AGM – 7th April 2011

1.         The AGM was held at 1 Sri Aurobindo Marg, New Delhi on 7th April 2011.

2.         52 members attended the AGM this year. *

3.         The President, Mr. DC Anand briefed the House and thanked his committee for the good work put in by all. He also apprised the House that the school is going to start a staff exchange program with the famed Marlborough College in UK which will run concurrently with the current student exchange program.

4.         Two minutes of silence was observed for the members and others close to the OCA who passed away in the recent past.

1. Roshan Lal Vashisht, Staff                         Nov 28, 2010
2. KN Shakabpa (1954 batch)                         Sept 16, 2010
3. Meera Batra w/o late Vice Admiral RN Batra (C, 1920-37)
4. Adarsh Talwar                                            Dec 2, 2010
5. Maj Gen. Keshav Chander Khanna (R, 1924-33) Dec 18, 2010
6. HS Sidhu (L 1947-49)
7. Hasan Agha (Last Indian captain of undivided India) Nov 16, 2010
8. Chand Prakash Akers (L, 1949)                 Feb 25, 2011
9. Mukesh K Sethi (I, 1960-68)                      March 27, 2011

5.         He also informed that Rs. One crore, that was contributed by the OCA to the school for infrastructure expansion, has tripled  to Rs three crore on account of the contribution of 2 crore by the School. The President further stated that the corpus will be used for building state-of-the-art accommodation for the staff. Separate accommodation for Class IV employees of the school will be built below the bye-pass road. The House appreciated the fund-raising efforts as well as the expansion plans. Mr. KC Anand’s efforts of raising funds was appreciated.

6.          The House was informed that an infrastructure committee of the OCA will be constituted to get regular updates relating to the utilization of the infrastructure corpus by the school. Mr. Tejinder Singh had already drawn up a road map for the planned expansion and up gradation of the school’s infrastructure. Members also agreed that there should be fund raising efforts from OCA (India) to further increase the Infrastructure corpus so as to bring the road map to fruition.

7.       The School had repaid the  entire  loan and  was  debt free. It had also been able to  fund the entire  arrears of  Gratuity that was outstanding  during the  previous period.  The members of the House appreciated the healthy financial status of the School.

8.         After serving the OCA (India) as its President since 1987 Mr. Deep C Anand announced that he is stepping down as President of the OCA (India) and felt that there’s a need for younger lot to lead the organization. He was steadfast in his resolve to exit from the post of President even though many requested him to continue.

Secretary’s Report
9              The  Secretary briefed the house about the accounts of the OCA (India). Mr. A.K. Mehra, member stated that there were no   adverse remarks by the Auditors. He then read the Auditor’s report for the financial year ending 31 March 2010. Balance sheet is attached. The accounts were scrutinized by the members. The statement of Accounts for the year 2009-2010 was unanimously passed and adopted.

10.       The House approved retention of Davinder S Jaaj & Co. having its office at SCO 18, II Floor, Sector 17 E, Chandigarh as the auditors for the next financial year.

11.          Mr. A K Mehra clarified that since Tax Exemption for the OCA had been obtained till 31 March 2011, there was a need to hold the AGM latest by April 2011. However, the next AGM should be held before September 30, so as to file various returns in time. The Secretary has been advised to file the application for the renewal of statutory exemptions based on Audited Account as on 31st  March, 2010 along with other information required to be filed.

12.       The minutes of the last meeting were read and approved unanimously. The list of those who attended the AGM is attached *

13.       The Centenary celebrations of the Old Cottonian’s Association organized in 2010 went without a glitch. The efforts of OCA Chandigarh Chapter were lauded by the members. Mr. Sukhinder Singh elaborated about the successful celebrations in the run-up to the OC Week organized by his chapter which included a Golf match between OC and old Boy’s of Lawrence School, Sanawar. OC’s, of course, were victorious. Mr. Sukhinder Singh also informed about the dinner hosted at the Taj, Chandigarh and the Centennial drive to the school with an overnight halt at Barog where a campfire and barbeque was organized. The members appreciated the efforts of the Chandigarh and North India chapter in organizing the event.

14.       The Secretary Col. R Dewan read out a letter in front of the House sent by OC Rajinder S. Thakur. Thakur, in his letter addressed to Secretary,  said “I urge you to postpone the  AGM and elections till such a time that the constitution is amended.” To this Mr. Anil K Mehra replied to the House that it cannot be done as not holding the AGM within 15 months of the last AGM would be against the constitution of the OCA (INDIA).

Thakur objected to the point that an OC residing outside Delhi could not contest the OCA (India) elections. His letter further reads “I urge you to postpone the elections of the OCA and prevent them from being held under a clause that is appalling to say the least. If this is not done, then I’m sure I speak for a majority when I say that you can have your 15 people having lunch every year, but please excuse us if we refuse to consider it as the association representing ALL Old Cottonians.”

The Secretary informed the House that a committee formed to amend the present Memorandum of Association (MOA) has already uploaded the proposed MOA in the OCA website for scrutiny of the members. The OCA members can give suggestions to their respective chapters by May 15, 2011. Thereafter the chapters will nominate two members each who will then deliberate over the pertinent suggestions forwarded by the OCA members across the country within a given time fame. Thereafter the matter will be put up before an EGM for approval of the amended MOA.

Mr. Inni Bawa (Rivaz 1954 – 59) stated that without outgoing President Mr. DC Anand’s support, the OCA (India) will just whither away as it has happened in the past. He therefore categorically proposed that Mr. DC Anand continue as the President Emeritus of the OCA (India). The resolution was unanimously passed by the House. After being the torchbearer of the organisation for 24 years, the outgoing President Mr. DC Anand graciously accepted the honour bestowed on him by the members of the House.

At the close of the AGM, a suggestion was received from members of the House that there shouldn’t be a complete break from the past in running the OCA (India). Col (Retd) R. Dewan was unanimously asked to continue and he graciously agreed to do so. PRESIDENT, Emeritus, Mr. DC Anand proposed the name of Mr. BM Singh (C, 57-63) as the new President of the OCA (India) and this was accepted by the House. Mr. Harpreet Singh Khatkar (R, 80-90) and Mr. Anupam Thapa (C, 83-95) were co-opted to the Executive Committee of OCA (India).

Col. R. Dewan
Secretary OCA (India)

* The list shows names of 43 OCs who registered. The other OCs failed to register.