The Main School Building

The school buildings were erected by entirely by donations. Bishop Cotton School contemplated the addition of a girlsí department to the institution. The Viceroy, Lord Canning thoroughly and heartily supported the scheme and directed that an equal sum be added by the Government. The school was built in Gothic architecture on a plan furnished by Crawford Cambell and erected by Major Innes. It was occupied in September 1868. Unfortunately on Sunday evening the seventh of May, 1905, whilst most of the boys were on "Khud Leave", the school caught fire. The fire as far as can be traced originated from an oil stove owned by the master living in the right wing of the building. The complete school was burnt except the H.M.ís Lodge, Senior Masterís house and the hospital. The school was rebuilt, generally on the same architecture and occupied in July 1907. On the first floor of the building are the four house divided into dormitories. The class rooms are on the ground floor. It was in 1906 that the dormitories were changed to houses. One house was named after Lord Curzon, Viscount George Nathanial, Viceroy of India 1898-1905, with the Latin motto "Facto Non Verba" (Facts not words). House colour adopted was Red. The second house was named after Lefroy, Rt. Rev. Bishop of Lahore 1899-1901, with the motto "Sperno Mutare" (I scorn to change). The house colour adopted was Green. The third house was named after Ibbetson, Sir Denzil, Governor of Punjab 1906-1908 with the motto "Nec Impetu Nec Imperio" (Neither by force nor by command) with the house colour Oxford Blue. The last house was named after Rivaz, Sir Charles, Governor of Punjab 1903-1906, with the motto of "Servamus" (We Serve). The house colour adopted was Cambridge Blue. All the house names, mottos and colours were chosen by Mr. G.S. Stokes, Senior Assistant Master 1906.

Main School Building
Etching sponsored by I. S. Bawa / H . S. Bawa / D. S. Bawa - all of Rivaz House.


Up ] Lawrence Gate ] [ School Main Building ] The Headmaster's Lodge ] Irwin Hall ] The Holy Trinity Chapel ] The War Memorial ]